Including something that wasn’t running   Leave a comment

As I was tapering for the 10000 on Thursday I had a session on Monday this week instead of the usual rest day. 10 minutes warm up followed by 8 x 1 minute fast (1 minute jog) then 10 minutes cool down. I felt a bit tired but nothing too traumatic. 

Tuesday was the rest day this time. So I did.

Wednesday was 25 minutes easy with 5 x 15s strides to finish. 

Then it was finally time. Tom’s track 10000. After my good run at Phoenix I hoped I’d be able to replicate it. As there wouldn’t be mile markers I decided to split the race into three sections of effort. 13 minutes steady, 13 minutes faster, the rest faster still. Obviously this meant wearing a watch, but it’s only a stopwatch so wouldn’t give me any idea of pace or anything. 

Ready for the off


I settled in to a pace which felt comfortable, then picked up the effort after 13 minutes, then again at 26 minutes. Soon enough I was running on my own. This was fine though and I just kept concentrating and ticking off the laps. 


I had no idea where I was lap-wise so just kept going. Finally I heard the bell. Alas it was for the person just behind me! Eeek. Having got this far without being lapped I tried to push on a bit more and I managed not to be lapped. Phew! Thus it was now my last lap. Even though I was wearing a watch I hadn’t looked at it other than at 13 and 26 minutes and the lap clock kept switching to screensaver so I had no idea of my time. Because I was quite pleased with my run (in terms of concentrating and sticking to my plan) I did a full on sprint finish for the last 100 metres or so. This did little to help my time and I crossed the line in 43.06. 

Luckily Emily was my lap counter so I was able to see my splits after the race.

Alas I’m not Mark O’Gara


I think this is the most consistent I’ve ever been! Also shows how putting in more effort as you get more tired doesn’t lead to an increase in pace (or not in this case anyway). I could easily berate myself for my not so fast time but I’ve decided not to as I ran how I wanted, stuck to my plan and concentrated all the way round. At the moment I’m practicing a style of racing so the time isn’t really relevant. 

On Friday it was back on it but with a revised run of 35 easy (scheduled steady pace). I suppose due to Thursday the easy pace was a little quicker than usual at 7.55mm for the 4.5 miles.

Due to Pride on Saturday the usual crew went over to Eastbourne to do their parkrun. It was a hot day. The course is run round a lake with a small lap on lumpy grass at the start and finish. I knew I wouldn’t be able to drum up any pace after Thursday so just wanted to do the run at a steady/tempo/consistent pace. I was a bit behind the 22 pacer the whole way round and finished in 22.23 which was ok. 

parkrun posse: me, Rob, Mal and Dean


This morning (Sunday) I was scheduled to do a hilly long run but Rob had won two free places for Spin City so instead I had to do a 40 minute steady run before the class at 10am. 

Here is Rob’s sweat patch


A slightly lower mileage overall due to the spin but a good mix of activities over the week and still 27 miles dans le sack.

Posted 07/08/2016 by Isobel Muir in Running

Leave a Reply

